Review: Fear Us (Broken love, #3) – B.B. Reid

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00037]

  • Title: Fear Us
  • Author: B.B. Reid
  • Publisher: B.B. Reid
  • Pages: 252
  • Language: English
  • Genre: New Adult, Romance
  • Appreciation: ♥♥♥♥

KEENAN
It’s been four years since I ran away—from home, my brother, and my maybe father. I created a life free of expectations while pretending I wasn’t being hunted by all of the above. I managed to stay under the radar all this time… or so I thought. When big brother shows up and saves my ass, I’m forced to face everything I left behind, including her.

SHELDON
It’s been four years since I became another statistic. I made a lot of mistakes when it came to Keenan Masters. The first was loving him at all. He took something from me the night he left, and when I told him I still loved him, he told me he’d always hate me. After that, I learned how to be okay… until he came back. Gone was the boy who always knew how to make me laugh, and in his place was a cold, arrogant monster.

My review:

After reading Fear me and Fear you I couldn’t wait to read Fear us. I’ve had this book a while on my reader and this weekend I knew that it was time to read the book. No matter the things I still need to do for my school and internship.

I need to say that, despite this is already the third book in the series, it still shocked me! Particular passages are so extreme that all I could do was read it with my mouth wide open. Some things that happens or were said in this book, well I truly didn’t expect those things. Keenan has changed completely, as a reader of The Broken Love series you won’t recognize him anymore.

And because of that, tensions in this book keep getting higher and higher whereby you can’t stop reading. I often read a third book in a series that doesn’t have the tension like the first books in the series. With this book that’s not the case.

Sometimes a character reacts unrealistic. Keiran for example says something to Keenan, while he is in prison, that no one would say when they’re in prison. Also some things that the characters do, that would never happen in real life. Yes it’s a book, I agree with you there but as a reader you must be able to identify with the characters.

With that said. B.B. Reid did an excellent job with giving the characters their own voice. They all have their own past and future. You really get sucked in this book because you feel the emotion they’re feeling.

One last thing, I was a little disappointed in the beginning because Reid used a lot of tell in the first chapters. But later in the book she used a lot of show.

My conclusion: I really enjoyed Keenan’s story! And I can’t wait till Breaking love: the story of Dash and Willow.

“Have you had another motherfucker around my kid?” The audible hitch in her breath and the guilt that flashed in her eyes did nothing to stop my growing rage. “What do you mean?” she stammered. “You bitch.” I released her neck and took a step back. “Who is he?” “Who is who?” she screamed. “There’s no one!” “That’s not what your eyes just said.” “So now you’re a fucking mind reader?” “No. I’m your fucking mind reader. Shelly, don’t play with me,” I warned. “You have no right to question my love life.” Love? Was she in love? Fuck that. I’d stop her heart with my bare hands before I allowed her give it to anyone”

 

Leave a Reply

